2012: If the World Ends…

What if this was your last year on Earth?

Maybe your first thoughts involve looting the local Target or going skydiving. Or maybe the thought alone overwhelms you with fear. Either way, there is great value in looking at our lives through from this perspective.

Now of course, until my next birthday (which happens to be 12.21.2012), no one will know for sure if the world isn’t going to end. But in the meantime, why not use this thought to motivate us to do the things that we have always wanted to do. Let it help us get off the couch, walk over to that person we haven’t apologized to in years, and say what needs to be said. Let it motivate us to pursue more intensely than ever a purpose driven life. Honestly… why not?

Now, my personal theory about all the hoopla surrounding this day is not that this day will be the end of the world, but rather, the end of a mindset. This world is far too connected right now for ideas not to spread quickly. Twitter, facebook, wordpress, youtube, and all the social media outlets currently available make the world an open chatroom for conversation. So, I believe that as “Doom’s Day” gets closer, the anxiety associated with such a concept will cause the world to start talking. It will cause everyone to start questioning the things that need to be questioned, and great changes will be made. Those changes will represent the end of the world, the way it is now, and a global paradigm shift toward more positive living.

I know I’m definitely not the only one writing a blog like this right now even, and as the day gets closer there will be more and more. So I felt it pertinent to say that I am going live this year to the fullest, and I hope that you all do the same. In this upcoming year I will be spending eight months of it here in Korea. During that time I will have six months with my girlfriend, whom I have missed dearly. We are going to Thailand together in a few weeks. I plan on speaking Korean somewhat fluently before I return home. I will Skype with my family and friends as much as possible and make sure that those close to my heart know that I love them. I will learn to eliminate stress in my life by rising above the things that have held me down my entire life and live in the now. I will reread all of my old blogs to remember how far I have come in this past year, what I have learned, and what I hope to one day teach others. And above all, I will give love in some way to everyone I meet.

THE TAKEAWAY: It is my sincerest hope that anyone reading this feels challenged to live better right now. Not tomorrow, next week, or at the end of the month… now (there is no such other time). It saddens me to think that so many people go their entire lives without ever considering taking on such a challenge. I mean, I’ve heard something like 90% of New Year’s Resolutions aren’t followed through with.  So why not change the world by changing yourself? Every great movement in history started with a single idea in a single person’s head. So what is yours?
“Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do.”
       -Steve Jobs

And the world will live as one...

Artwork above by my beautifully talented girlfriend. 

2 thoughts on “2012: If the World Ends…

  1. Thanks for the email back. I’m again thankful I found this blog. its cool to know that someone’s been somewhat through what I have been and going through. More importantly, someone is further a long and passing on how they’ve gotten to where they have. Totally agree with the takeaway of this post. My year has a moniker of “year of the phoenix” and having a list of resolutions and goals for everyone to see really gives that extra something and motivation to accomplish them or at least show people what I’m striving towards. Keep it up bud and thanks for reading, it means a lot!

    • Your very welcome. I really like your moniker for this year. Only the lessons we learn from failures in life can give us the information needed to learn how to succeed. It seems you are well on your way to doing so. I’m very glad I found your blog as well so I could share what I have learned with someone so similar to my younger self. Cheers!

What do you think?

