The Confidence Factory

Everyday, everywhere I go, I see the downward gazes, hunched shoulders, and hesitating mannerisms of people who greatly lack internal self confidence. If low self confidence were a disease, our world would be in a state of panic. But instead, we allow it to persist within ourselves and the society around us because the lower self confidence we have, the easier it is to sell us the next skin/ hair/ acne product.

But what if I told you there is a factory where confidence is made. And this isn’t just any ordinary Henry Ford style assembly line factory.This factory has the ability to create all the confidence one could ever need in seconds… yes seconds. So before you go search Amazon.com for “confidence in bulk,” let me explain. Deep down inside each of us, behind that little voice in our head that is our thoughts, lies our own little factory. And yet, as amazing as it is, most of us wait our entire lives to turn it on and start cranking out confidence. When I think of how many years I spent telling myself I was stupid, avoiding big challenges, and shying away from talking to girls I liked, it deeply saddens me. But, as all things are one, that sadness has motivated me to write this today in hopes that a few more factory lights may turn on.

Maybe you’ve always known about your factory, and just never used it. Maybe something someone said to you when you were young hurt you so bad you never found it again. Or maybe you have been using your factory your whole life, always confident in yourself, but forgot that other people don’t have the same access to it. Well to the ladder, I say it is time to help others do the same. And to the former, what are you waiting for? For a moment, I’d like you to close your eyes and remember a time when you felt very confident in yourself. What was going through your head? Why were you so confident? And, more importantly, how can you learn from that time and apply that lesson to today? When I think back to such a time, I remember that I felt an overwhelming sense of purpose – I knew I was supposed to be there. The voice in my head was saying encouraging things and I felt a surge of energy inside my chest. Now that I know that feeling, when I walk into a more uncertain situation, I remember to encourage myself, remember why I’m there, and just follow the path. What else is there to be done really?

THE TAKEAWAY: One’s success with getting their factory open depends solely on one thing: awareness. In order for us to change what the voice in our head is saying, and flip the factory lights on, we need to be very aware of what is going on inside our heads, especially in times of low self confidence. Here’s what I do: whenever I catch myself feeling low, I have taught myself to use that as a cue to get the factory up and running at full speed.  As soon as I hear, “Oh man, I don’t know if I can do that… It probably won’t work out just don’t do it,” I immediately remember that confidence is self-made and I’ll be honest, every time that low feeling goes away. If you give this a try and it works for you, that’s great! If it doesn’t however, maybe you think differently than I do, and that’s okay. But the fact remains that your confidence is self-made too and just because you have to find your factory on your own doesn’t make it any less powerful. Awareness is the key that opens the door, after that, its all up to you. Do you think you can do it?

6 thoughts on “The Confidence Factory

  1. Perhaps you should beging to file your thoughts in folders by category so that you can begin to accumulate thoughts for your first and second and 20th book that you will someday write. All these insights are gifts from GOD to you and i know that so many people are not aware of the gifts within. You have a gift of being able to take profound thoughts and to write simple insights that people can comprehend.
    Someday this thread that you are weaving will become a work of art for so many others to enjoy and apply to their lives.

    thanks for always giving those of us who read your thoughts – so much hope for a brighter factory and a working profitable assembly line!

    • You’re welcome Alex. I can feel that thread you are talking about weaving as I go, but for now, I am enjoying the process. Thank you for always encouraging me and giving me your thoughts.

  2. Chad, this is a very good start on a wonderful analogy of reviving the sense of confidence in one’s self. I have a feeling that you can expand on this in a big way and I hope you do so. I love your thoughts and agree with Alex that you might consider categorizing them in a way that your readers can go back to them more easily. You DO reach people. That’s so important. Thanks for the good pictures and how to reach your inner strength.

    • You’re very welcome Auralyte. I feel like I may come back to discuss confidence more in the future. It has surfaced a couple times in my writings. Thank you for your words as well… The encouragement goes a long way with me – it goes right into powering my factory! =)

  3. Hey, friend. This couldn’t have come at a better time. Thanks for having the confidence to put yourself out there into the void that is the internet…you’re helping so many, including me! I will definitely try to use what you’ve said in this post to get my factory going. Cheers!

    PS welcome home.

What do you think?

