Are YOU a Writer?

It has been quite some time since I wrote my last blog here and having had such a long absence has taught me one very valuable thing I’d like to share with you all: YOU NEED TO START WRITING. 

Believe me, I know all the ways you could talk yourself out of starting a blog. “It’s too hard. I don’t know how to run it. I don’t have enough time. No one is going to read it anyway. I have more important things to do. Yadda yadda yadda…” So before I go into refuting those statements with you today, let me give you a couple examples to illustrate my point.

On the evening of December 30th, 2012, I laid awake in my bed reflecting on the year that had passed. I thought of how I had spent most of it in a foreign place, learning about people and life. Then I thought about all the hoopla surrounding my birthday (12/21) and how it really wasn’t the end of the world (big surprise!). Then, I decided to pull out my iPhone and read some of my old blogs. Here are a couple excerpts:

  • 2012: If the World Ends… written 1/1/2012: “Now of course, until my next birthday (which happens to be 12.21.2012), no one will know for sure if the world isn’t going to end. But in the meantime, why not use this thought to motivate us to do the things that we have always wanted to do. Let it help us get off the couch, walk over to that person we haven’t apologized to in years, and say what needs to be said. Let it motivate us to pursue more intensely than ever a purpose driven life. Honestly… why not?” ……. “So I felt it pertinent to say that I am going live this year to the fullest, and I hope that you all do the same. In this upcoming year I will be spending eight months of it here in Korea. During that time I will have six months with my girlfriend, whom I have missed dearly. We are going to Thailand together in a few weeks. I plan on speaking Korean somewhat fluently before I return home. I will Skype with my family and friends as much as possible and make sure that those close to my heart know that I love them. I will learn to eliminate stress in my life by rising above the things that have held me down my entire life and live in the now. I will reread all of my old blogs to remember how far I have come in this past year, what I have learned, and what I hope to one day teach others. And above all, I will give love in some way to everyone I meet.”

After reading this, tears began to well up in my eyes because I realized that all of those goals were fulfilled. In being able to read my own words from a year ago, I realized the profound truth that if you set your intent to do something in life, it will get done time.

  • Passion Really Does Pay Off written 4/12/2012: “The bell rang and I simply waved goodbye. Slowly they shuffled their way out of the classroom. After all of them had left, I had started cleaning up and pushing chairs in when one of the girls, who had been listening the whole time, came back into the room. Even before she spoke I could feel the determination behind her words. Her grammar wasn’t very good but I could tell what she meant simply by the order of her words. If her English were perfect, what she said would have gone a little like this:“Teacher, I want to say thank you. Before today, I chose a dream just because when I was growing up, adults always told me I had to know my dream. But now, I know that it’s okay if I don’t know what I want to do. If I don’t get into the best university in Korea, that’s okay. Now I know that what I learn is more important that where I learn it.”

    Then, she did something that is very strange in Korean culture… She reached out and gave me a quick, awkward hug, as if she had never given one before, and walked away. As soon as she had turned the corner to leave, tears welled up in my eyes… I leaned my head against the nearest wall and cried tears of joy.”

THE TAKEAWAY: Rather than convince you to write, I would like you to imagine having the ability to go back and read stories from your life, check how well you’ve accomplished goals, and learn about the power of setting your intent. It really is easier than ever to start a blog these days. You don’t have to be in it for the money to be successful. By any monetary standard this blog is a massive failure, but thats not why I write it. I write it because it is my way of re-gifting the lessons life gives me in hopes that they will benefit others… including my future self. =) If you have any questions about starting your own blog, I would love to help! Here’s to the writer in you~ CHEERS!

People

The people around us make us the world we live in. Let’s make our world beautiful!

8 thoughts on “Are YOU a Writer?

  1. Yes you are an inspiration to all of us and your timing is very interesting (or creepy as Mr. St Clair states). I would love to learn more about how to start a blog and i always felt like i wanted too, but this particular story was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I have sparingly journaled for years and have always enjoyed reading my past entries and measuring how much i have grown.
    thanks again for all the inspiration!!

    • I’m really glad that you have made that decision Alex. Maybe when I see you next we can discuss this as well. I have been able to benefit so much from it I just hope others can do the same.

  2. I was deciding whether it’s better to delete my blog because I think all that I posted there are so shameful and uninteresting since it’s only just about me and my experiences. And although I have a lot of ideas in my head, it’s always so difficult for me to express them. Often times I find myself groping for words..But after reading this, it’s like a cold water is poured all over me, and made me remember the real reason why I started a blog—to improve my writing skills. So thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and inspiring us. I discovered your blog via High Existence and I’m learning a lot from you! Again, thank you so much =)

    • Wow! I can’t tell you how wonderful that is to hear. I too have thought of quitting many times. Sometimes it feels like if no one is reading then why bother? Do you ever feel like that?

      For me that changed when my own writing started helping me later in life. And further still, I know my children someday will be able to read them. So it really is no longer just about me, it’s about my family that doesn’t exist yet.

      I like your blog! You are so honest and share the loving experiences in your life. Where are you from originally? Why did you start writing?

      • yes I’ve felt that but I just keep in mind what Gurkin said in the movie “Sydney White” that having a blog is not about being read, it’s about being written.. so yeah. I’m from the Philippines and the reason I started writing is that I just want to practice and improve my writing and maybe somehow find the writer in me if there ever is.. I’m taking up education major in literature and writing is also a big part of it so I really need to do better.. but often times my mind is flooded with ideas but I can’t seem to put in into words or just express it but I’m trying. Now I’m thinking of posting about more substantial topics like reviews rather than just about the experiences in my blog so that many people can relate and at least my blog will be more interesting..that’s why I haven’t updated it yet ..Thanks for checking out my blog and for the compliment!

      • I agree. The process of writing is extremely valuable for the writer, often times more than the reader. I have a friend from the Philippines and she writes a great blog with some of her photography. She’s on wordpress and High Existence too. Her blog is infinitesatori. Check it out you might like it!

        Regarding the flooded mind, I feel that way all the time. So whenever that happens to me I just step back and decide to write another time when it feels more natural. It’s kind of like when a teacher in school gives you an assignment, you don’t want to do it. But when you choose to do the same thing for yourself, it becomes fun. That’s how it feels to me. My most recent blogs are about meditation and quieting the mind. I hope they can be helpful to you. Keep going! Follow your path and see where it takes you!

What do you think?

